I get these notes On butterflies and lilac sprays From girls who just have to tell me They saw you somewhere

Image

Joni Mitchell wrote that. I think it is from “I’d just like to see you sometime.”  Actually, It’s from “For the Roses.”  (Thanks Richard) Imagine writing anything on a butterfly.  They are so fragile.  This beauty, a black swallowtail, was dead when I found her. They lead such short lives. Live fast and die young, the James Deans’ of the natural world. The iridescence on the wings is powder and falling off. But it survives, like Joni survived.  I wonder if Joni saved the butterflies?

2 thoughts on “I get these notes On butterflies and lilac sprays From girls who just have to tell me They saw you somewhere

Leave a Reply

