clothes you wore in high school: or wished you had worn, or wished to God you’d never worn.

Has anyone read The Trad? It is the most wonderful blog about tradition in all its many forms. Actually that’s just my take on what it’s all about. I have been reading it for the articles the author writes on clothing. He is obsessed w/ what my generation called the collegiate, or preppy look. Oxford cloth shirts, khakis, white levi’s, weejuns (regular, and tasseled cordovan) both with and without sox. Socks then, I have to add, contained more wool. They were bulkier and better. Blue jeans were 501’s shrink to fit for both men & women, and a faded pair was always the objective. You held your pants up (well, when we girls were allowed to wear them.) with Canterbury belts. They were beautiful woven cloth, leather & brass belts. The cloth was a two – toned stripe. They looked great on khaki’s & w/ levi’s. I attribute my own attention to these details from having attended a private school where we wore uniforms regularly, but were only allowed to wear “civies,” or civilian clothing on special days, so wearing the right thing became paramount when added to the self-obsession that was adolescence. Otherwise I was wearing a white, round-collared, oxford cloth blouse with either my gray skirt/maroon blazer MWF uniform, or with my green plaid skirt/cardigan TTH uniform, or my navy blue skirt/cardigan, spring uniform. That was my wardrobe for four years. It got very old very fast. I swore that I would never again wear a white blouse. I’ve relented somewhat over the years, but a white blouse can send me back in a heartbeat.

The Trad idealizes this style of dressing and resents (to some extent) the influence of the Hippie Movement & subsequent sloppy dressing that followed. This period of time was really the shifting of generational influences as the Baby Boomers began to come of age, and their dad’s insistence on propriety was sent packing, so to speak. Add Richard Nixon to the mix and the same scenario was played out at the highest levels of government. Thunderclap Newman put it best when he said: “Because there’s something in the air.

Leave a Reply

