My garden: It’s a good thing that others aren’t counting on me to produce food.

Every year I dream about how great my garden will be. It’s usually just okay, and sometimes it’s even kind of weird. The year I tried to grow sweet potatoes I had a zillion teeny-tiny ones & one gigantic one, the mother of all sweet potatoes. I suspect that this means something about how I am gardening, but my hope is to sort of stumble upon the reason this happens as opposed to actually figuring it out. It’s a good thing that others aren’t really relying on me to produce food.

My grandfather was a transplanted country boy who ended up in New Jersey, yet he turned his entire back yard into a garden, with vegetables I will never even tackle like corn. One end of his garden had red and black raspberries, blackberries, blueberries and strawberries. There was nothing the man couldn’t grow. This is me in my imagination, but in reality I’m lucky to grow anything.

With that said here are my plans for this year’s garden. I have four tomato plants, and really it’s all about the tomatoes for me. Last year, in an eerily similar situation to the sweet potatoes mentioned above, only one of four tomato plants really produced for me. And that plant  became huge, outgrowing the cages I had strategically placed all around the tomatoes. I finally resorted to a bamboo teepee that stood at about 6 feet, and it handled the plant beautifully.

I will recreate the bamboo teepee & I’d also like to erect some kind of netting or trellis for peas & beans, a first for me this year. I’ve added one yellow squash plant (because more than one & you’re inundated w/ squash), and an eggplant.

One thought on “My garden: It’s a good thing that others aren’t counting on me to produce food.

  1. If you do cool month plantings – spinach, bib lettuce, I’d like to try the fruits of your labor. I also like beets.

Leave a Reply

