Spring is coming . . . at last

Yesterday I saw a small cluster of snowdrops, tiny white flowers that look like little bells, sitting on clumps of bright green, grassy foliage. It’s been a really hard winter, with about 80 inches of snow. These are the kinds of numbers recorded up north, not here in the mid-atlantic. We usually have mild winters.

The best time of year in Maryland is spring. Everything comes alive. The wild flowers have started blooming along the appalachian trail, and you can follow the spring up the coast as the season changes. Actually, this is a hike I’ve long thought about, starting in the great smokies and  going up to New England. When I was in my twenties, I hiked the appalachian trail from White River Junction, New Hampshire into New York State–around 150 miles. I think, though that I’ll confine myself to day trips for the time being. Though it would be a blast to camp out with the dogs.

Leave a Reply

